Responsive image

Journal First Presentations

    ICSME has a long tradition of partnering with influential software engineering journals. Following the success of last year's Journal First / Conference Second (J1C2) pilot, ICSME will expand its journal first program to include additional journals and select presentations based on submissions from authors. The goal is to accommodate as many journal first presentations as possible.

    The participating journals and magazines are the Journal of Software: Evolution and Process (JSEP), Empirical Software Engineering (EMSE), and IEEE Software.


    Journal first papers are journal papers that describe original and unpublished results related to software maintenance and evolution and are not extensions of previous conference papers. A journal first paper must adhere to the following criteria:

  • Reports completely new research results or presents novel contributions that significantly extend and were not previously reported in prior work; and
  • Does not extend any of the author's prior work solely with additional proofs or algorithms (or other such details presented for completeness), additional empirical results, or minor enhancements or variants of the results presented in the prior work; and
  • Does not repurpose materials previously published at a conference to target software professionals.

    We invite the authors of journal first papers to submit a talk proposal. For a journal paper to be eligible to participate in the J1C2 program at ICSME 2017, the paper must be

  • In scope of the conference, that is, the paper contains work related to software maintenance and evolution (see the ICSME Research Track Call for Papers for possible topics);
  • Accepted in one of the participating journals and magazines, namely the Journal of Software: Evolution and Process (JSEP), Empirical Software Engineering (EMSE), or IEEE Software; and
  • Accepted after May 1, 2016 and by the J1C2 submission deadline.

How to Submit

    Interested authors submit a short talk proposal consisting of the paper title, abstract, a short statement on how the work satisfies the journal first criteria, and the PDF of the accepted paper. Please list all authors of the original journal paper as authors in EasyChair.

    Submission Site (EasyChair)


    The J1C2 committee will check that the submission is in scope of the conference. We plan to select as many papers as possible for inclusion in the J1C2 program. In case that the interest in the J1C2 is higher than expected, not all submissions might be selected and higher priority will be given to original presentation (article that have not been presented or scheduled to be presented in other international venues).

    As the articles have been already reviewed and accepted by the journals, they will not be reviewed again for technical correctness. They will be checked for the journal first criteria and prioritized according to fit to the conference theme. Authors will not receive any reviews with the notification.


    At least one author of each accepted J1C2 contribution must register and attend the conference to present the paper. Failure to present the paper might result in exclusion from future J1C2 programs.

    The J1C2 papers will not be part of the ICSME proceedings. Instead they will be published through the journals. However, we expect authors of accepted J1C2 make a preprint of the paper available to ICSME.

Important Dates

    Submission: June 8, 2017

    Notification: June 26, 2017

    Submissions close at 23:59 AoE (Anywhere on Earth, UTC-12)

Participating Journals

    For this round of J1C2 presentations the journals were selected based on previous partnerships with ICSME. If your journal would like to participate in J1C2 at future ICSMEs, please reach out to Alexander Serebrenik (a.serebrenik AT, the chair of the ICSME Steering Committee.

Selection Committee

    Gerardo Canfora, University of Sannio, Italy

    Darren Dalcher, University of Hertfordshire, UK

    Robert Feldt, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

    Nicholas Kraft, ABB Corporate Research, USA

    Zhang Lu, Peking University, China (co-chair)

    Xin Peng, Fudan University, China

    David Raffo, Portland State University, USA

    Alexander Serebrenik, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

    Diomidis Spinellis, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece

    Thomas Zimmermann, Microsoft Research, USA (co-chair)